Is Your Home Free of Hazardous Pods?

July 21, 2015 at 1:06 pm 3 comments

Detergent_pods_causing_thousands_of_chil_722310000_20130704004718_640_480

I quickly ran to the laundry room, grabbed the detergent cap and took a SIP!

What you say!?!  Yes, I just had to know what my Toddler had possibly just ingested!

I made the terrible mistake of not putting the cap back on the bottle of Laundry Detergent after filling my washer. I left it sitting out on the counter where with just the little tip of his toes he could reach up and grab it..WHICH HE DID..and put the cap to his lips!

I walked in the room to see the lid just an inch from his lips, he looked at me and said “Mmmm“. YIKES!

img-WYFF-News-4-investigates-toxic-laundry-detergent-pods (1)

For some CRAZY MOM REASON my first instinct was to also put my lips to the cap so I would know what he was feeling if in fact he did ingest any laundry detergent.

My mouth immediately began to feel warm and numb especially my upper lip and tongue. My anxiety got the best of me and I felt nauseous and calledPOISON CONTROL ASAP!

Thankfully if he did ingest any detergent, he did not ingest enough to cause any harm to him – Thank Goodness!

I haven’t used detergent since. The thought of even having something in our home that toxic that he could possibly get into and ingest gives me the heebeejeebees so we decided to just DITCH IT all!

#ditchthedetergents

#ditchthedetergents

I am very thankful to have found and Made the Switch to
SmartKlean Non Detergent Laundry Ball!


Did you know? Since 2012 there have been 32,000 calls to Poison Control from children ingesting laundry detergent? Most commonly from the pod like packages! 

I was part of this statistic!

Canyouspot

These packages are often very colorful and resemble candy and the young intriguing mind of a child is curious to know what that yummy looking candy tastes like.

Urgent calls such as this are happening EVERY HOUR and at least once a day a child is hospitalized because they ingested laundry detergent.

Children in comas and having seizures are the most seriousness of complications!

A study, conducted by researchers at Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio, found 769 children in the U.S. were hospitalized and one child died after ingesting a laundry detergent pod.

Check out this Video on how this little baby just barely survived ingesting a Liquid Laundry Detergent Pod

This is is happening far too often and I am so happy that I am part of a company that has such a phenomenal product that has allowed me to say goodbye to accidental poisonings, harmful toxins, and the use of dozens of plastic containers per year!

The SmartKlean Laundry Ball is so EASY and SAFE to use, and my young son is even helping me with the laundry and I have no worries about his safety.

Accidental Poisonings from Laundry Detergents is very serious and can be LIFE THREATENING! Here are some symptoms that can occur:

  • Difficulty breathing
  • Severe eye burns and irritation
  • Temporary vision loss
  • Excessive vomiting
  • Loss of consciousness

    I would hate for my children to suffer these symptoms – Not worth the risk!

    Its safer to just DITCH them than to try to keep them out of your child’s reach by locking anything harmful away.

    Kids ALWAYS find a way!

    The stress of always thinking in the back of my mind “what if he breaks into the cupboard” …is eliminated and I sleep better at night knowing that my kids are safer in their own home.

    What is up with these Pods anyways? Are they a fad? Are they convenient?

    Consumers LOVE to buy cleaning products that they perceive to be convenient and this is a something that drives sales in the the home cleaning products industry.

    This is why laundry pods have become one of the most popular products on the market since they were first introduced in 2010.

    Is Convenient really better?

    Lets not sacrifice safety and our families well being for convenience.

    Stay away from Mainstream and Commercial Products and get back to basics with your washing routine.

    HECK – Get back to nature and embrace the Earth’s natural components like minerals, water and sun to brighten your laundry routine.

    Check out this very informative INFOGRAPHIC that was created by SafeKids.org

    laundry-packet-infographic-for-web_0


SmartKlean is Completely FREE of Harmful Chemicals and DETERGENTS – Makes Perfect Sense!

SmartKlean-PTPA

Join the Laundry Revolution Today!

Buy SmartKlean Laundry Ball


Happy and Safe Washing!

Sarah-Harron

Written by Sarah Harron
SmartKlean Ontario Distributor
Naturally Skye
For more great Natural Laundry and Cleaning tips, join my Facebook Group: SmartKlean by Sarah!


Entry filed under: Health Hazards, Natural Cleaning, Smart Laundry Tips, SmartKlean News. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Plastic-Free July ~ What you need to know and how to join the movement

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ernesto Amaya  |  March 8, 2018 at 4:41 am

    HI.
    Can We use SmartKlean ball in Laundry Area in Hotel. We loaded whit 125lbs for every load. How many balls of SK we need?
    thanks

    Reply
    • 2. smartklean  |  March 14, 2018 at 9:52 pm

      Hi Ernesto,

      Thank you so much for your interest in the SmartKlean Laundry Ball! For every 36 lb. load, 2 laundry balls are needed. For 125 lb loads, 4 laundry balls would be needed for maximum power. For US orders, you can purchase the laundry balls directly on this link:

      http://smartklean.com/html/order_usa.html

      If you have any other questions, for fastest response time, please contact customer-care@smartklean.com. Thanks again and I hope I’ve been helpful today!

      Diana
      SmartKlean Customer Care

      Reply
  • 3. Jordan  |  July 28, 2015 at 3:48 pm

    Very interesting findings. It is terrifying how, when you think about it, those pods do look like toys or candy to small children! It’s important to make sure to keep hazardous things away from your family.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SmartKlean Links

Categories

Our family’s product

Must Read

Products we love!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,402 other subscribers

Recent Posts